Cute hair bands…

Hi everyone…

As promised in the last post, I’m back with an update. A couple of months ago, an acquaintance of mine had just asked me if I could make something for her little daughter’s friends who were to drop in to her second birthday party. Now the birthday girl was such an adorable darling, I just couldn’t say no. Quickly my mind was thinking of what could be done. Something that was cute, easy to make, quick and of all… INEXPENSIVE.

I love making gifts… Who wouldn’t love making some. But I’m a home maker and a busy mom too. Time is definitely my major concern. So after lots of thought I got up with this cute little project of making simple but stunning hairbands.

I decided to make them in white with different colored flowers on them. Initially I thought i would crochet the entire band. But then something struck me…A few months back, I had bought a knitting loom and I thought this would be a nice way to explore with it.
So let’s see how I made them…I’m sorry I couldn’t take pictures of the entire procedure (was too excited and busy making them…😀)

I first crocheted the flowers… Crocheted a long spiral and then sewed it into a rose.

Pattern for the Rose:-

  • Chain 26
  • Single crochet into the second chain from the hook and all along
  • Chain 2 turn, zc#

Pretty aren’t they? And then I decided to go with a white combination with all of them.

I made a long cord with the loom… As long as you would like the hair band to be. Fastened of the ends.

Now take a regular plastic hair band( any color should be fine, but I decided to go with white as I thought it wouldn’t look bad even if it’s seen through) and insert it into this band. This would give the cord a shape and some extra support to sit on the head firmly. I then secured the ends with a knot.

Finally, the roses were sewed onto the band and that’s it. Cute, quick and easy to make hair bands are ready.

I hope you liked the project… Will be back with more such stuff. Let me know your comments below and do share in the pics if you have it a try too, I would love to see them.

Yours

Ranjitha😃

By Ranjitha

I'm an art enthusiast. I try to learn new things and recreate them in a simpler way.

Leave a comment